Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeNewsCaribbean NewsOECS launch 40th Anniversary

OECS launch 40th Anniversary

CASTRIES, St Lucia, (OECS) — The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Commission hosted the official launch of the 40th Anniversary of the OECS, presenting planned activities to commemorate the June 18, 2021, milestone.

The activities include a virtual Thanksgiving Service; a series of public sector consultations and business-focused webinars; the launch of an OECS teachers resource booklet on regional integration; the launch of an OECS Youth Assembly; a development partners symposium; and the premiere of a special bi-lingual production on regional integration captioned “OECS for me” dramatized by the Che Campeche theatrical group.

Roosevelt Skerrit, chairman of the OECS Authority delivered remarks at the launch, highlighting resilience and transformation during the region’s journey:

“This 40th year is a historical marker on a road of increasing convergence, greater anticipation and unyielding possibility. Notwithstanding the bad weather through which we have journeyed, there have been bursts of sunshine. Notwithstanding the pain we have endured, we have also enjoyed the blessings of rain and we have reached this milestone for one simple reason – we have always focused on the things that unite us rather than the things that divide us.”

Director-General of the OECS Dr Didacus Jules, in his remarks, noted the need to celebrate past success but also look to the future:

“Our celebration of the 40th Anniversary of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States will involve not just looking back at the road already travelled but importantly also looking forward to the road ahead. In doing this we will be acknowledging the incalculable contributions of many who walked before us and the significant accomplishments on this journey to regional integration laid out in the road map of the Revised Treaty of Basseterre.”

The OECS was established on June 18, 1981, as an international, inter-governmental organisation dedicated to regional integration in the Eastern Caribbean. Seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate and promote unity and solidarity among the Members, known as the Treaty of Basseterre, named after the city in St Kitts and Nevis where the agreement was signed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Caribbean News

St Lucia announces new law for Piton Management Area

By Caribbean News Global contributor SOUFRIERE, St Lucia - The government of Saint Lucia has demonstrated its commitment to maintaining the Outstanding Universal Value of...

Global News

D-Link unveils the G530 5G NR AX3000 Wi-Fi 6 Router

TAIPEI, Taiwan - D-Link Corporation (TWSE Code: 2332), a global leader in networking solutions, proudly announces the launch of its cutting-edge G530 5G NR AX3000...