Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSt Lucia welcomes new cabinet of ministers #PuttingYoufirst

St Lucia welcomes new cabinet of ministers #PuttingYoufirst

By Caribbean News Global contributor

CASTRIES, St Lucia – Following the July 26, 2021, general elections that herald the Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP) to a 13 seat parliamentary majority, accompanied by two SLP orientated independent candidates, Stephenson King and Richard Frederick, Saint Lucians, have in large part welcomed a “Peoples Government” #PuttingYouFirst

The once upon a time invincible United Workers Party (UWP) was humiliated to clench two parliamentary seats – in most commonwealth jurisdictions is not classified as a party, much less, to be considered the opposition in the House of Assembly – steering at what is essentially a 15 – 2 majority in the parliament of Saint Lucia.

On July 28, Philip Joseph Pierre, took the oath of allegiance and the oath of office, as prime minister of Saint Lucia, in addition to the ministerial portfolios of finance, economic development and the youth economy.

Related Link: St Lucia’s new prime minister to led rescue mission

On July 30, attorney-at-law, Leslie Mondesir, was sworn in as the islands, attorney general;

On August 6, Pursuant to Section 22, Subsection 1(a) of the Constitution of Saint Lucia, His Excellency Sir Neville Cenac, Governor-General of Saint Lucia appointed Cyril Errol Melchades Charles to serve as deputy to the Governor-General for the period August 4 – August 31, 2021.

August 5, 2021, swearing-in ceremony for Cabinet of minister, held at the House of Assembly, assignment of Portfolios are as follows:

Dr Ernest Hilaire

Minister for Tourism, Investment, Creative Industries, Culture and Information.

Moses Jn. Baptiste

Minister for Health, Wellness and Elderly Affairs.

Shawn A. Edward

Minister for Education, Sustainable Development, Innovation, Science, Technology and Vocational Training. 

Alva Romanus Baptiste

Minister for External Affairs, International Trade, Civil Aviation and Diaspora Affairs.

Stephenson King

Senior Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Ports, Transport, Physical Development and Urban Renewal. 

Emma Hippolyte

Minister for Commerce, Manufacturing, Business Development, Cooperatives and Consumer Affairs. 

Joachim Andre Henry

Minister for Equity, Social Justice and People’s Empowerment.

Dr Virginia Albert-Poyotte

Minister for the Public Service, Home Affairs, Labour and Gender Affairs.

Kenson Joel Casimir

Minister for Youth Development and Sports.

Alfred Prospere

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries, Food Security and Rural Development.

Wayne D. Girard

Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Economic Development and Youth Economy.

Richard Frederick

Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for Housing and Local Government


Dr Pauline Antoine-Prospere – Parliamentary Secretary

Ministry of Education, Sustainable Development, Innovation, Science, Technology and Vocational Training.

Guibion Ferdinand – Parliamentary Secretary

Ministry of Tourism, Investment, Creative Industries, Culture and Information.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Caribbean News

UN rights chief concerned over polarization, inequality, racism – Guatemala

NEW YORK, USA - The UN High Commissioner for Human Rights on Friday highlighted changes and ongoing challenges in Guatemala – including corruption, racism...

Global News

ICJ: Israel’s continued occupation of Palestinian territory ‘unlawful’

The HAGUE - The UN International Court of Justice (ICJ) on Friday declared that Israel’s continued presence in the Occupied Palestinian Territory “is unlawful”,...